Darnau Eisteddfod / Eisteddfod Pieces 2023

William Mathias - Piano Concertos Nos. 2 and 3; Ceremony after a Fire Raid

William Mathias - Piano Concertos Nos. 2 and 3; Ceremony after a Fire Raid

  • £11.99


★★★★ - BBC Music Magazine

This release of music by William Mathias from Tŷ Cerdd Records features the composer as performer in a live recording of the premiere performance of his Piano Concerto No. 3, recorded in 1968 at the Swansea Festival (with the BBC Symphony Orchestra under Moshe Atzmon).  Alongside the Third Piano Concert sits Mathias’s Piano Concerto No. 2, with soloist Llŷr Williams (with the BBC National Orchestra of Wales conducted by Grant Llewellyn) and Ceremony after a Fire Raid for mixed voices and percussion (BBC National Chorus of Wales under Adrian Partington), also concert performances (from 2014 and 2015).

Piano Concerto No. 2, Op. 13 (Llŷr Williams, piano; Grant Llewellyn, conductor; BBC National Orchestra of Wales)
1. Molto moderato, sempre flessibile
2. Allegro molto vivace
3. Lento  molto e flessibile –
4. Allegro alla danza

Piano Concerto No. 3, Op. 40 (William Mathias, piano; Moshe Atzmon, conductor; BBC Symphony Orchestra)
5. Allegro energico
6. Adagio, sempre flessibile – Vivace – Adagio
7. Allegro con brio

Ceremony after a Fire Raid, Op. 63 (Adrian Partington, conductor; Chris Williams, piano; Andrea Porter & Matt Hardy, percussion; BBC National Chorus of Wales)
8. Lento molto: Myselves The grievers Grieve
9. Andante: I know not whether Adam or Eve
10. Allegro moderato e maestoso: Into the organpipes and steeples

Tracks 1-4 recorded live at BBC Hoddinott Hall, Cardiff 7 June 2014
Tracks 5-7 recorded live at Brangwyn Hall, Swansea 15 October 1968

Tracks 8-10 recorded live at BBC Hoddinott Hall, Cardiff 15 November 2015

Also available as a download from iTunes, Amazon, Google Play ... 

We Also Recommend