COVID-19 (please read this before you order)

Rhian Samuel - Sonata for Violin

Rhian Samuel - Sonata for Violin

  • £15.99
Tax included.


Commissioned as hommage to Beethoven, a sonata in three movements by composer Rhian Samuel.  The first movement has a 'Maestoso', first theme and a more dream-like second; the second movement offers two lyrical themes, as well as a third troubled them; the third and final movement is a fast, virtuosic, and lively dance interpersed with a heavy chorale-like melody in rondo form.

This work was commissioned by Rhyl Music Club for the 'Beethoven in Wales' project, 2018, on behalf of Gwyneth Peters with financial support from Tŷ Cerdd and the PRS Foundation: Women Make Music. The first performance was given by Mary Hofman, violin, and Richard Ormrod, piano, on 17 October, 2018 at Rhyl Town Hall.



We Also Recommend