Darnau Eisteddfod / Eisteddfod Pieces 2023

Morfydd Owen - Four Welsh Impressions

Morfydd Owen - Four Welsh Impressions

  • £7.99
  • Save £-7.99

Morfydd Owen's Four Welsh Impressions (Llanbrynmair, Glantaf, Nant-y-ffrith, Beti Bwt) are now available in this new edition made from the original Manuscripts held at Cardiff University, edited by Ethan J Davies and Brian Ellsbury.

Referred to in Morfydd Owen's marginalia as 'Waiting for Eirlys' but in a copyist's manuscript of 'Four Welsh Impressions' as 'Llanbrynmair', later still published with the title 'Prelude in F-sharp minor' by the Anglo-French company. The collection is based on a copyist's version of the score - to give the order of pieces - and from there based on Morfydd's own writing. This piece by the Welsh composer Morfydd Owen is just one of several new editions of Morfydd Owen pieces to be published with Tŷ Cerdd which are based directly on the evidence of manuscripts held at Cardiff University's Special Collections and Archives.

We Also Recommend