Rhian Samuel - Fragile Landscapes

Rhian Samuel - Fragile Landscapes

  • £5.99

A substantial and challenging piano work by the composer, Rhian Samuel. In turns lyrical, rhythmic and exploring the entire range of the instrument - this would make a strong for any modern pianist's recital. (c. 10 minutes)

The composer writes:

"The landscapes which have inspired this piece are those around my hilltop home in Wales where I can see the Dyfi estuary to the south, the sea to the west and many mountains from Pumlumon (Plinlimon) in the south-east to Snowdonia in the north just by walking a few yards up or down the hill and looking over one shoulder or the other. Their ‘fragility’ results from the assault on these landscapes by the machines of renewable energy (wind turbines, electricity substations, pylons and power lines), all, seemingly inevitable accompaniments to our modern existence."



We Also Recommend