Cwmwl Tystion II / Riot!

Cwmwl Tystion II / Riot!

  • £11.99


Cwmwl Tystion II / Riot! is the second iteration of trumpeter and composer Tomos Williams's Welsh jazz project dealing with Welsh culture and history. Focusing on specific riots in Welsh history, the Riot! Suite also draws attention to racial injustice in Welsh history and questions ideas of Welsh identity.  

The hand-picked band consists of two giants of the UK jazz scene; Soweto Kinch (saxes, spoken word) and Orphy Robinson (vibes, effects), alongside young Welsh vocalist Eädyth Crawford, and two of Tomos's long-term collaborators, the rhythm section of Aidan Thorne (bass) and Mark O'Connor (drums). 

1. Cadw ty mewn cwmwl tystion / Keeping house in a cloud of witnesses [11:42]

2. Merthyr Rising 1831 [15:59] 

3. Tonypandy Riots 1910 [07:05] 

4. Tredegar Riots 1911 [05:35] 

5. Beth yw Byw? / What is Living? [10:50] 

6. Cardiff Race Riots 1919 [04:42] 

7. Mahmood Mattan 1952 [05:34] 

Total: 01:01:29 


We Also Recommend